Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Australia - Full Moon 133 - 07/30/07

Amanda Easton
Wild Cat Records

As the title implies, Amanda Easton's new record is a chilled, sophisticated affair. She lives up to the title with her rich croon and subtle songs.

"Less Ordinary" is a jazzy, smoky affair with a neat melody. "Nothing" is a brassier song, Easton neatly putting down a guy with little to offer. "Just Not That Into You" sees Easton tackling a song to a buoyant backing. "You were the hurricane through my heart" she sings. It screams soundtrack material. "Ready Aim Fire" was co-written with Simon Morel and it's a great track. Easton's album ably demonstrates just what a chanteuse can do.

Copyright © 2007 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Arabs In Aspic: Strange Frame Of Mind (LP 2010 LTD 100)
  • Dead Can Dance: In Concert (4xLP Box 2013)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Glowsun / Electric Moon: Sun And Moon (LP 2011 LTD 500)
  • Hooded Menace: Never Cross The Dead (2xLP 2010 LTD 100)
  • Space Witch: Space Witch (2xLP+7" 2015 LTD 25)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Stone Breath / Mike Seed with the Language Of Light: The Aetheric Lamp (LP 2011 LTD 50)
  • Vanguards: Phnooole (LP 1967/Re 2008 LTD 250)

We also have 214 other articles/reviews of artists from Australia in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé