Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Mare Smythii - Full Moon 119 - 06/11/06

Matt's Half-year Mix
The First 6 Months
From New Style Records & Music Box Studios

01 B. Fleischmann "Gain"
02 B. Fleischmann "First Times"
03 Jel "No Solution"
04 Clearlake "It's Getting Light Outside"
05 Karl Blau "Into the Nada"
06 Mogwai "Travel is Dangerous"
07 Ms. John Soda "Outlined View"
08 Ms. John Soda "Sometimes Stop, Sometimes Go"
09 Static "Return of She"
10 Halloween, Alaska "Drowned"
11 J Dilla, Jay Dee "Workinonit"
12 J Dilla, Jay Dee "Stop"
13 J Dilla, Jay Dee "Time: The Donuts of the Heart"
14 Ellen Allien & Apparat "Way Out"
15 Ellen Allien & Apparat "Jet"
16 Cat Power "The Greatest"
17 Static "Never Never"

01 Miwon "Semafora"
02 Miwon "Brother Mole"
03 Slowdive "Celia's Dream"
04 Slowdive "Catch the Breeze"
05 Slowdive "Ballad of Sister Sue"
06 Band of Horses "The First Song"
07 Band of Horses "Wicked Gil"
08 Anna Oxygen "March of Human"
09 Anna Oxygen "Hypertention"
10 Mates of State "Think Long"
11 Mates of State "Fraud in the 80s"
12 Eugene Ward "The Depth"
13 Human Pippi Armstrong "Nightlights, Nebraska"
14 Richard Fronteer "Bad Cow/Good Cow"
15 Mystic Condor "I'm Trying to Think"
16 Casiotone for the Painfully Alone "Nashville Parthenon"
17 Wooden Wand and the Vanishing Voice "Don't Love the Liar"
18 Chihei Hatakeyama "Swaying Curtain in the Window"
(Richard Fronteer and Mystic Condor are available from user 'I Love Luna-Kafe' on Soulseek. Eugene Ward and Human Pippi Armstrong are available on Myspace)

01 Aceyalone and Rjd2 "Supahero"
02 Bibio "Snowbow"
03 Devics "A Secret Message to You"
04 Grandaddy "What Happened?"
05 Built to Spill "Goin' Against your Mind"
06 Elvis Costello Jazz 07 Ghostface Killah "The Return of Clyde Smith"
08 Ghostface Killah "Shakey Dog"
09 Ghostface Killah "Bad Mouth Kid"
10 Ghostface Killah "Whip you with a Strap"
11 Ghostface Killah "Back Like That"
12 I'm Not a Gun "Continuous Sky"
13 Miwon "No Need for Sanity (remix)"
14 Miwon "Pale Glitter"
15 Keith Fullerton Whitman "Stereo Music for Farfisa Compact Duo Delux & Drum Kit"
16 Stereolab "Get a Shot of the Refrigerator"
17 Electric President "Good Morning, Hypocrite"
18 Electric President "Insomnia"
('Elvis Costello Jazz' is available from I Love Luna-Kafe)

Copyright © 2006 Mateo Orillas e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Creation: The Singles Boxset (11x7 Box 2014)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Farm: S/T (LP 1971/Re 2013 LTD 500)
  • Haizea: Hontz Gaua (LP 1979/Re 2003)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Kinks: Something Else By The Kinks (2xLP 1967/Re 2012 LTD 500)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Sky Sunlight Saxon / Vibravoid: A Poetry Of Love (LP 2010 LTD 200)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 86 other articles/reviews of artists from Mare Smythii in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé