Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 64 - 12/30/01


The highly productive Martin Hagfors, headman of HomeGroan as well as one of the HGH lads (see our archive), has come up with HomeGroan's fifth album in five years. Containing sympathetic, catchy songs of the folk-song bag. They operate the crossover grounds of pop, rock, folk and country, but the intention this time was to keep clear of the 'regular' genres, to record a collection of SONGS. Addicted is supposed to be a tribute, or a declaration of love to songs. Hence the closing track, "Addicted To The Song".

Hagfors (vocals, guitars) has, together with comrades Beng Olsson (guitar, vocals), Even Finsrud (drums, vocals), and Odd Erik Fleischer (bass, vocals) recorded 11 songs. Of which Hagfors has written 9 (one co-written with Olsson), Olsson and Finsrud one each. The opening "The Woods" starts out in country-folk terrain, before "speeding" up into a galloping rhythm. A musical night ride through the woods, while the dark story of the death of a 9-year-old girl is unveiled. "Nothing For Keeps" is Hagfors alone with his acoustic guitar, presenting a "naked", low-voiced balled. A bit Neil Young-ish, and (together with the short, toy organ driven 'psalm' "I Will Never") the album's finest moment. The quietly rumbling "Empty Can" (slightly reminiscent to "Working Class Hero"), telling a story of some of the outsiders of this world. Drummer Finsrud has come up with a bouncy, poppy rocker called "Landslide". Catchy, and slightly Beatlesque ("Taxman"!). "Linchpin" and "Wrong End of The Knife" are also worth mentioning, as well as the mighty 'title song', "Addicted To The Song". The latter including the entire (?) Jaga Jazzist (probably the most hard-working band in Norway), adding horns and other sounds, making a powerful 'the end'.

Not a groundbreaking record, but a handful of solid songs making quite a steady piece of work, from a tight unit of musicians.

Distribution in Norway: Tuba!

Copyright © 2001 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Beauregard Ajax: Deaf Priscilla (LP 1968/Re 2006 LTD 350)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Grannie: Grannie (LP 1971/Re 2006 LTD 400)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Lonely Kamel: S/T (LP 2010 LTD 100)
  • Massive Attack: Splitting The Atom EP (12" 2009 LTD 1000)
  • Richard Hawley: The Singles Club I-IV (4x10 Box 2012 LTD 500)
  • Ulver: Shadows Of The Sun (LP in Wooden Box 2007 LTD 100)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 727 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé