Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 34 - 07/28/99

Reverend Lovejoy
Another Time, Another Place
Kreegah! Records

The hard facts first: Reverend Lovejoy is Pål Angelskår and Jens Herman Ruge. They spent some months in Mexico in 1998 where they wrote these songs. Back home they were encouraged to record them, which they did on a borrowed analogue four-track machine with some help from their friends. And here's the end result, 12 short songs and an even shorter instrumental, written by Pål or Jens Herman separately, 28 minutes in all.

These are "singer-songwriter" songs, dominated by acoustic guitars and vocals, but with - mainly discreet - drums, bass, electric guitar, organ and piano in between. A quotation from Nick Drake's song Things Behind The Sun printed on the cover (also included in one of the Reverend's songs) gives an indication of the music. And the two songwriters seem to be serious young men like Nick Drake used to be. As far as I understand (no lyrics are printed in the booklet), Mexican matters inspire some of the lyrics, but most of them have a broader - global - horizon, dealing with love and relationships you know. The booklet has a lot to do with Mexico, though, including several nice colour photos from the trip.

To some, a four-track analogue recording might seem much too limited and primitive these days. Well, I think the limitations have been an advantage here. The sound quality is much better than could be expected and quite sufficient to fit the CD format. I suspect some of the charm and "soul" might have been lost with a wider range of instruments and recording possibilities. Here, the acoustic guitars are the backbone of most of the songs, with some exquisite guitar playing in between, not least Connections. And for instance The Girls That Made Your Summer has some very nice interplay between acoustic and electric guitar and organ.

All in all, I think the darker, more melancholic songs of the album stand out. Home Again, clearly written before the homecoming, and the haunting little piece ¿Ok? are probably my favourite. So far Another Time, Another Place has proved to be suitable company late at night and on lazy summer afternoons and will probably suit winter mornings, too, later on. But I advice you mainly to put it on when you're alone. This is definitely not party music.

Copyright © 1999 JP e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Reverend Lovejoy articles/reviews: Dead Girl EP, Polo Is Not The Issue Darling, Champagne Is!, Tonight, Baby I Am.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Bass Communion / Pig: Live in Mexico City (LP 2008 LTD 100)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Haizea: Hontz Gaua (LP 1979/Re 2003)
  • I.E.M. Steven Wilson: Arcadia Son (LP 2001 LTD 500)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Megaphonic Thrift: Sun Stare Sound (2xLP 2015 LTD 100)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)
  • Various Artists: Psychedelic Days Volume 1 (6x7 Box 2007)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 724 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé