Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 33 - 06/28/99

Our modulation

Micromars is Christer Jensen from Want (a pop quartet from Trondheim, who released their debut single On a Plane some years ago, plus a split single with Bronson Comet Lighter, both on the Myke Droner label), playing around with various keys such as Farfisa, Korg, and Roland. Our modulation is released by the Japanese label Motorway, and is a quartet of electro-pop songs of the Stereolab/Flowchart/Cornelius type. Catchy as well as cheesy. Music that bubbles and bounces through an electronic field of plastic straws.

FAST 5 is, well, a fast little pop song with charmingly unsteady synthetics. Cheesgnova (huh?) is a brilliant piece of Stereolab-pop, with a richer sound than the rest of the tracks on this EP. Noise Modulation is a bit to standard, I think, while AlphaBeta is a slow strolling pop song, and maybe the best song on Our Modulation. All in all, an amusing little 7" EP showing there's skill and will in the underground of Norwegian lounge pop.

Copyright © 1999 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Micromars article/review: International Pop Modulations.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Beauregard Ajax: Deaf Priscilla (LP 1968/Re 2006 LTD 350)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Kaizers Orchestra: 250 Prosent (LP 2008)
  • Lamp Of The Universe: Earth, Spirit, And Sky (LP 2005 LTD 320)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Orange Goblin: Time Travelling Blues (LP+10" 2012 LTD 100)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 726 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé