Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - New York - Full Moon 222 - 10/08/14

Lia Ices

Lia Ices follows a well-received album with a fresh new effort.

"Tell Me" is a rhythmic song with plenty of atmosphere and the singer's voice sounding just lovely. "Loves Ices Over" shows off a delightfully dreamy side of Ices, a beautiful Cocteau Twins-like soundscape with superlative vocals. Ices has a way with these things. "Electric Arc" is a familiar sounding song in a good way, Ices singing to a soft beat. It's a gorgeous song.

"Waves", the closing track, is a suitable exit point, Ices' dreamy vocals drifting over a calm backing. It sounds like the final part of a film could do with this on the soundtrack. It's evocative and ambient, strange and familiar all at once. It's a great album.

Copyright © 2014 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family: My Ancestors (LP 1974/Re 2012500 LTD 500)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Ghost: If You Have Ghost (12" 2013 LTD 500)
  • Guided By Voices: Propeller (LP 1992/Re 2005)
  • Jacco Gardner: Cabinet Of Curiosities (LP 2013 LTD 500)
  • Lonely Kamel: Shit City (LP 2014)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD w/t-shirt 2007)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)

We also have 360 other articles/reviews of artists from US, New York in our archive:

© 2014 Luna Kafé