Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - Ohio - Full Moon 219 - 07/12/14

Chrissie Hynde

Chrissie Hynde really needs no introduction, being a bonafide legend in the Pretenders since the seventies. Now she does her first solo record, produced by Björn Yttling of Peter, Bjorn and John. The results are definitely worthy of her good name. "Dark Sunglasses" is a hit, a very catchy tune given gravity by that fabulous voice. "Down the wrong way" has guitars by Neil Young, another legend; his guitar playing is very distinctive, just like Hynde's always cool voice. They work well together. "House of Cards" packs a considerable punch, Hynde leading the band in a rockin' song with a suitably barbed lyric. "Tourniquet" shows off Hynde's more sensitive side, a slow ballad with some nice melodic touches. She's made a great solo debut, worthy of her great legacy.

Copyright © 2014 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family: My Ancestors (LP 1974/Re 2012500 LTD 500)
  • DumDum Boys: Blodig Alvor (LP+7" 1988/Re 2015 LTD 500)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Spectrum: Geração Bendita (LP 1971/Re 2001 LTD 450)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)
  • The Wizards: The Singles 1964-1967 (LP 2016 LTD 100)
  • Thule: Graks (LP 2010 LTD 300)

We also have 43 other articles/reviews of artists from US, Ohio in our archive:

© 2014 Luna Kafé