Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag England - Full Moon 200 - 12/28/12

Andrew Poppy
Shiny Floor, Shiny Ceiling
Field Radio Recordings

Andrew Poppy has been around a long time creating soundscapes. This new album sees him create a fascinating sound world, assisted by some intriguing guests.

"12 Thoughts on the Language of Others" is a calm yet tense tune with a spoken word bit that's interestingly obtuse. "If I Could Copy You" is the first single released from the album, and it sees Poppy create a cinematic glide of a song with a mysterious lyric about identity and love. "Dark Spell" features the inimitable Claudia Brucken weaving her magic across a fluid melody. It's a sublime moment.

"Dance With Me" features tango singer Guillermo Rozenthuler giving a uniquely charged, emotional performance to a soft tune. It's a marvelous record.

Copyright © 2012 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Ryanbanden: S/T (2xLP 2012 LTD 100)
  • 3rd And The Mortal: In This Room (2xLP 1997/Re 2017 LTD 100)
  • Baroness: Yellow & Green (2xLP Deluxe Book Edition 2012)
  • Farm: S/T (LP 1971/Re 2013 LTD 500)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Opium Cartel: Night Blooms (LP 2009 LTD 100)
  • Paul Weller: Stanley Road (6x7 BOX 1995)
  • Sky Sunlight Saxon / Vibravoid: A Poetry Of Love (LP 2010 LTD 200)
  • The Wizards: The Singles 1964-1967 (LP 2016 LTD 100)

We also have 574 other articles/reviews of artists from England in our archive:

© 2012 Luna Kafé