Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Ukraine - Full Moon 199 - 11/28/12

Andrey Kiritchenko

"Chrysalis is a state in which one creature naturally transformed in an almost completely different being, while remaining within the cocoon. The idea of this transformation in time, when living creatures are left virtually nothing from the previous condition, is very inspiring. In this album sound of acoustic instruments and electronics flow into one another, dissolve in devolution, decay in a space of interactions. Rebirth." (Andrey Kiritchenko)

Nexsound founder and experimental electronic/electro acoustic wizard Andrey Kiritchenko has launched another record. Chrysalis is one of many (more than 40 releases!) records he's been involved with over the years; solo-stuff or in collaboration with other artists (Francisco Lopez, Sara Lunden, Kim Cascone, Martin Brandlmayr, Anla Courtis, Jason Kahn and others). On his own label, or for labels like Staalplaat, SPEKK, Ad Noiseam, Bip-Hop, Neo Ouija, and more. Chrysalis holds 6 tracks, and is surprisingly accessible. It's from the experimental paths, of course, but the songs aren't of the abstract kind. Some of the songs are like chilled, jazzy, laid-back lounge-post-rock, and his band of players - Artem Amstibovskiy on clarinet, Gendel Krechkovskiy on double bass, and Natalia Dudynska on violin - are really skilled. I especially like the playful opener "Vortex Singular", "Momentum Derive" and "Quasi Religious", not to forget the very fine "Fly Above Where Leaves Do Not". Neat stuff!

Andrey Kiritchenko is a major player in the Ukrainian electronic music scene. He's acclaimed and awarded (awarded by Qwartz Electronic Music Awards, and he was a participant at the Ukrainian exhibition at the 52th Venice Biennale). Chrysalis is steady proof of his position.

Copyright © 2012 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Andrey Kiritchenko articles/reviews: Enough Heaven b/w Heaven Is Not Enough, Stuffed With/Out, True Delusion.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Donald Fagen: The Nightfly (2xLP 45RPM UltraDisc One-Step Box 1982/Re 2017)
  • Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell: Don't Hear It...Fear It!! (LP+7" 2012 LTD 300)
  • Creation: The Singles Boxset (11x7 Box 2014)
  • Det Elektriske Kjøkken: Elefantene Er Kommet (LP 1982)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)

We also have 17 other articles/reviews of artists from in our archive:

© 2012 Luna Kafé