Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Ireland - Full Moon 192 - 05/06/12

Wallis Bird
Wallis Bird
Karakter / Rubyworks

Wallis Bird has a unique voice on this album; she's definitely a talent to be reckoned with.

Opener "Dress My Skin and Become What I'm Supposed To" is delicate yet carries a lot of barely suppressed anger. "Take me Home" is a becalmed moment that she handles very well. It's a gorgeously evocative song. "Heartbeating City" sees Bird use some upbeat moods to create a song with a vivacious vocal. It's intriguingly done.

"Polarized" closes the album on a suitable note; Bird building a powerful song slowly. She's a gifted artist and this is a strong album.

Copyright © 2012 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • I.E.M. Steven Wilson: Arcadia Son (LP 2001 LTD 500)
  • 3rd And The Mortal: Tears Laid In Earth (2xLP 1994/Re 2017 LTD 100)
  • Guruh Gipsy: S/T (LP 1977/Re 2006)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Paul Weller: Stanley Road (6x7 BOX 1995)
  • Ryanbanden: S/T (2xLP 2012 LTD 100)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • XTC: Apple Vinyls (13x7 Box 2006)

We also have 19 other articles/reviews of artists from Ireland in our archive:

© 2012 Luna Kafé