Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Australia - Full Moon 186 - 11/10/11

City Of Satellites
Hidden Shoal Recordings

Remixed sees seven songs from the Australian dream-pop duo City Of Satellites' EP The Spook and the album Machine Is My Animal remixed. The outcome is quite stunning.

Remixed opens with Tim Manzanos cotton-soft take on "Machine Is My Animal", Syntax' approach on "Victor! Burn City Lights" is closer to the original, just with a lighter touch, while "Stranger Than Fiction" gets a delicious electroclash make-over by M-13. Slow Dance Society makes "Moon In The Sea" into an ordinary nice Slow Dancing Society tune, which means it's anything but ordinary. "BMX" has in Tim Koch's hands changed completely and appears as an eclectic pop-tune, and in that both gained and lost some of the immanent beauty of it's former self. Jatun gives "Control" a fuzzy and tighter expression, while the closure "Skeleton" in Manuels' version has gone in a warmer and smoother direction.

With so many different remixers it is as expected some variations here, but it still feels like a wholesome album, tied nicely together by the underlining of City Of Satellites shoegazing dream-pop material.

And in some parts, these mixes has not just made the tunes slightly different, or added another kind of quality, but actually turned the better part of them into something more, and by that; better.

Copyright © 2011 Aslaug O Klausen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our City Of Satellites articles/reviews: Moon In The Sea, Stranger Than Fiction, BMX, Machine Is My Animal.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Baroness: Yellow & Green (2xLP Deluxe Book Edition 2012)
  • Deathprod: Deathprod (4xCD Box 2004)
  • Electric Eye: Different Sun (LP 2016 LTD 100)
  • Grace Jones: Warm Leatherette (4xLP BOX 1980/Re 2016)
  • Handgjort: S/T (2xLP 1970/Re 2010)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • The Wizards: The Singles 1964-1967 (LP 2016 LTD 100)
  • White Willow: Ignis Fatuus (2xLP 1995/Re 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 210 other articles/reviews of artists from Australia in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé