Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 183 - 08/13/11

Great Bear EP
Phone Me / Tuba!

A couple of months ago Lukestar put out this 5 song, digitally available only EP. Great Bear EP holds (well, obviously) "Great Bear" off their latest album, Taiga, plus 4 new songs (never released in Norway) being out-takes from the making of their last two albums. Session losers, somehow.

"Great Bear", the single choice from Taiga, kicks off, and it's better than I remembered. It's a great pop song. Catchy. Indeed. So is "Houses Of Gold", and I really don't understand why this wasn't a Taiga track. Even the smashing "F.U.A." is a solid track, with its driving synths and drums. Lukestar for sure make intense and powerful indie-pop (with a hint of ELO), topped with Truls' distinct trademark vocals.

"Where The Circus Winters" and "Your Words Are Fire" are both from the Lake Toba sessions (they were both included on the Japanese version of the album). They're both OK, but maybe not as immediate and refined as the rest of the EP. Well, the latter of the two is quite punchy and powerful, making Great Bear EP a very strong hand. Proving Lukestar to be quite a bunch of players.

I'm ashamed to admit I haven't seen the band play live yet. Soon, I hope, Soon.

Copyright © 2011 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Lukestar articles/reviews: Lake Toba, Taiga, White Shade.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Jardine: Look in the window ... (LP 1969/Re 2007 LTD 100)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Paul Weller: Stanley Road (6x7 BOX 1995)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Sky Sunlight Saxon / Vibravoid: A Poetry Of Love (LP 2010 LTD 200)
  • Sonne Hagal: Only Echoes Remain (2xLP 2010 LTD 100)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 724 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé