Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 166 - 03/30/10

Serena Maneesh
No 2: Abyss In B Minor
Smalltown Supersound/4AD

I didn't quite catch the big issue of Serena's debut EP. It seemed to point in too many general directions. Then there was another EP and the self titled debut album concentrating more on noisy dirty rock, shoegazing to some extent. I wasn't too impressed and gave up after a few spins.

No 2 seems to continue where the debut album ended, but with a little less guitars. Still, there are lots of dirty and distorted guitars and basses here, kind of radio voices, smothering electronic keyboards, warped pianos and mellotrons on the loose. Noise, to some extent, is used as an instrument in between more psonic psunspots. In addition to the eerier moments there are parts of tranquillity with floating harmonious keyboards and seducing female vocals. Still, some ominous omens seem to be lurking underneath, in the abyss, I guess. I have no idea what the lyrics are about, though the titles might give us a clue: "Ayisha Abyss", "I Just Want To See Your Face" and "Blow Yr Brains In The Mourning Rain" (notice the spelling!) hints of several general directions.

At first the music and noises of the album might seem quickly and, to some extent, randomly put together. In fact Emil Nicolaisen, the front man of Serena, is a perfectionist. Along with family and friends he has been striving with the album for about four years. Sufjan Stevens is one of the many friends, b.t.w., though he's hard to discern along with the rest of the none singing artists involved. After some spins, the shapes of the songs begin to stand out and gives us a clue what Emil is aiming at. This is definitely a grower. And eventually I've realised it: Serena Maneesh is an experimental rock band!

Copyright © 2010 JP e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Serena Maneesh article/review: Fixxations.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Horisont: Second Assault (LP Die Hard Edition 2012 LTD 100)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Pearls Before Swine: One Nation Underground (LP 1967/Re 2009 LTD 1000)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Rex Rudi: Alt er vel (2xLP 2008 LTD 212)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Thule: Graks (LP 2010 LTD 300)
  • Van Halen: Deluxe (6xLP BOX 2015)
  • Who: Live At Leeds (3xLP 1970/Re 2016)

We also have 726 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé