Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Australia - Full Moon 165 - 02/28/10

Whyte Zebra
Whyte Zebra

Whyte Zebra are fronted by Andy Stanhope on this debut album. They play a melodic yet edgy brand of rock and folk with memorable tunes.

"Double or Nothing" is a powerful song that sees Stanhope at his most eloquent and band mates Steve Quinn and Tom Whyte are firing on all cylinders. It's low-key but with great spirit and heart. "Home Is What You Make It" is bright and breezy, the trio evoking the sound of hope for a better day. "Pixelated" is pensive and has a pretty unique yet stripped-down sound. Whyte Zebra make an impact even if they hardly raise their voices.

"Sleep Well Tonight" ends the album on a bright note, the trio playing an optimistic tune with a strong beat. They are a very promising group and their debut is just fine.

Copyright © 2010 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Arcesia: Reachin' (LP 1997 LTD 400)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Haizea: Hontz Gaua (LP 1979/Re 2003)
  • Ihsahn: The Adversary (2xLP 2006/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)
  • Van Halen: Deluxe (6xLP BOX 2015)

We also have 214 other articles/reviews of artists from Australia in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé