Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Ireland - Full Moon 149 - 11/13/08

Joan Coffey
Struggles & Lulls

Joan Coffey has a rich, smoky voice that she puts to good use on her second album. Opener "A Little Deeper" has an apt title, as it looks beyond the surface and features some amazing vocals. "Don't Tell Me" is a song which features an honest lyric about a troubled relationship, Coffey's singing is at its best. Thea Gilmore lends some ace vocal support. "King of the Drink" is a self-explanatory ode to a man down on his luck. It's told with an expert attention to detail and with a memorable tune.

"Happy Ending" is a soft tune that features a lyric that defies the title. Coffey's yearning vocals captures the words well. She's not stuck in a black mood; her songs have too much hope to be only sad. They are filled with life in all its glory and shifting fortunes. This is a fine album.

Copyright © 2008 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • XTC: Apple Vinyls (13x7 Box 2006)
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • David Sylvian: Dead Bees On A Cake (2xLP 1999/Re 2018)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Farm: S/T (LP 1971/Re 2013 LTD 500)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Richard Skelton: Landings (2xLP+CD 2009)
  • Thule: Graks (LP 2010 LTD 300)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 19 other articles/reviews of artists from Ireland in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé