Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 145 - 07/18/08

Push and Pull

Aoede consists of Lisa Sniderman, David Sands and John Walden and this is their debut. Their music is multi-faceted and intensely engaging from the first song.

"You Don't Know Me" reflects on how easily facades betray us and Sniderman's bright vocal and the bouncy backing help it stand out. "I Lost, You Won" is a piano-based song that really shows off the singer's passionate vocal. "Annalis" is guested by cellist Erika Mulkey who records fabulous music as Unwoman. The song is lovely and intense and really shows the band playing together well. Sindermanís vocal is electrifying. "Something's Gotten Ahold of You" is soft and appealing as the band play in a country-inspired fashion. Aoede are worthy of investigating.

Copyright © 2008 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Bass Communion / Pig: Live in Mexico City (LP 2008 LTD 100)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Grace Jones: Warm Leatherette (4xLP BOX 1980/Re 2016)
  • Handgjort: S/T (2xLP 1970/Re 2010)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD w/t-shirt 2007)
  • Muse: 20x singles lot (20x7" 1999-2010)
  • Ulver: Messe I.X-VI.X (LP Lent Leather-bound edition 2013 LTD 100)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 416 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé