Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 118 - 05/13/06

Bonk Against Nothing
Racing Junior

This is the second long player from the Norwegian pop-rock-punk band Bonk. Their first attempt was hailed as a perfect debut in 2004. They started out as a duo, but are now four permanent members. It seems that we are dealing with twenty something kids, when it's almost twice as old blokes. They have been in different bands since late eighties.

The first thing that I can distinguish from the first album is the superior production on this album. When it comes to the songs, they start off were they left us last time. Fast, loud and they use mixed voices!! I was a bit afraid that their lack in singing qualities would be their pitfall, but here it's just apparent in the quiet parts and especially the song "Everyday". They are also using saxophone, which makes the song "Young Men" sparkle. "The Homecoming" is the first single from the album, which must have been hard to pick. There are no obvious singles on the album, but that is no problem with such strong concept.

I'm happy to say that Bonk has something fresh to offer thirsty rock audiences around the globe. It's 37 minutes long, a bit longer then their debut and far better.

Copyright © 2006 Geir Fladseth e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Bonk article/review: Waitin In A Car.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Dream: Get Dreamy (LP 1967/Re 2012 LTD 75)
  • Ihsahn: The Adversary (2xLP 2006/Re 2012 LTD 200)
  • Los Jaivas: El Volantin (LP 1971/Re 2005 LTD 350)
  • Pearls Before Swine: One Nation Underground (LP 1967/Re 2009 LTD 1000)
  • Rex Rudi: Alt er vel (2xLP 2008 LTD 212)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Sugarfoot: Big Sky Country (2xLP 2014 LTD 150)
  • Thule: Graks (LP 2010 LTD 300)

We also have 726 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé