Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 102 - 01/25/05

The Kids Are On High Street

This new promotional CD single release from Madrugada is a taster from The Deep End, their soon to be released new album. It contains two versions of "The Kids Are On High Street" - the album version, and a slightly shorter radio edit version, leaving out some guitar soloing towards the end. This is a slow, beautiful song, like Madrugada always have been capable of producing, but Høyem is singing with more urgency and intensity than before, possibly because his voice has adopted a vibrato quality in the direction of Michael Stipe. The R.E.M. comparisons are unaviodable, and the simple but emotionally rich guitar chorus definitely has a Knopfleresque ring to it. Fans that reject such mainstream reference points should not worry though, because most of all this song is highlighting the much appreciated Madrugada melancholy that we have learned to love from day one. Are we looking forward to the new album? Yes!

Copyright © 2005 Knut Tore Breivik e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Madrugada articles/reviews: A Deadend Mind EP, Beautyproof (single), EP, Electric EP, Grit, Hands Up - I Love You, Higher EP, Industrial Silence, Industrial Silence, New Depression EP, Punktum, Mo i Rana, 28.11.1999, Ready EP, Rockefeller, Oslo, 31.03.2001, The Deep End, The Nightly Disease.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Beauregard Ajax: Deaf Priscilla (LP 1968/Re 2006 LTD 350)
  • Captain Marryat: S/T (LP 1974/Re 2010)
  • Dead Can Dance: In Concert (4xLP Box 2013)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Haizea: Hontz Gaua (LP 1979/Re 2003)
  • Orange Goblin: Time Travelling Blues (LP+10" 2012 LTD 100)
  • Parameter: Galactic Ramble (LP 1971/Re 2001 LTD 450)
  • Richard Skelton: Landings (2xLP+CD 2009)
  • Ruphus: New Born Day (LP 1973/Re 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 712 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé