Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Australia - Full Moon 101 - 12/26/04

Feral Media

Mieli is solo artist Ryan Gobbe, based in Brisbane and also responsible for recordings under the name Two Tone. Scratch, crackle and subtle dub abound on Version, a meticulously crafted album where sounds are customised, cut and manipulated to complement an insistent pulse.

Gobbe has embraced technology and from his extensive home set up has created an incredibly beautiful, tender dubby-flavoured blipscape. Following two sparse openers, proceedings expand outwards for the throbbing bass and crackle of "Fly-over" and shuffling gentle house tones of "Eighty-hour Sequence".

The track selection and sequencing is exquisite and given the album is just over forty minutes the self-imposed confines are the making of Version. More so considering Gobbe has mixed and mastered it all within his own home, it speaks volumes about modern audio technology and his own intuition and abilities. The beautiful closing track is aptly entitled "Persistence of Vision".

Version has been road tested, accompanying me on several late night dashes between Sydney and my home South on the freeway - or autobahn if you prefer! Despite repeated spins it never fails to turn up aural surprises. One of my favourite releases last year was the electro dub of Deepchild's What's Going Wrong? and in Version we have yet another quality Australian ambient electro release. If only life was as pristine and faultless as this album. Another captivating and sublime slice from the Feral Media pie!

Copyright © 2004 Brian Stradbrook e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Farm: S/T (LP 1971/Re 2013 LTD 500)
  • Grace Jones: Warm Leatherette (4xLP BOX 1980/Re 2016)
  • Haizea: Hontz Gaua (LP 1979/Re 2003)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Los Jaivas: El Volantin (LP 1971/Re 2005 LTD 350)
  • Odium: The Sad Realm Of The Stars (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Ruphus: New Born Day (LP 1973/Re 2010 LTD 100)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)

We also have 214 other articles/reviews of artists from Australia in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé